Target Community & Educational Services, Inc.’s Vocational Programs offer Day Services, Employment Services, and Maryland Department of Rehabilitation Services (DORS) programs in Carroll County. In Montgomery County, Employment Services and Community Development Services are available. Each provides an individualized and structured approach in assisting individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. This goal is met through individual and small group activities on topics including education, recreation, and employment and volunteer opportunities in the community.

Day Services Program (Carroll)

The Day Program offers a computer lab, a library, an over-sized learning kitchen, and classroom space. The center’s large multi-purpose room allows individuals the opportunity to work on volunteer community projects and provides space for training and education.

The Day Program offers hands-on experiences including art creation and cooking lessons. Training topics include activities of daily living, academic skills, and pre-vocational skills.

Employment Services Program (Carroll & Montgomery Counties)

Target provides customized vocational support for our clients through comprehensive, individualized career exploration, job training, placement, and ongoing support. We tailor these services to each client’s unique needs.

Target Community & Educational Services, Inc. Vocational Program

Target Community & Educational Services, Inc. Vocational Program

Target Community & Educational Services, Inc. Vocational Program

Target also coordinates volunteer internship placements for clients through Community Development Services that provide valuable training and employment skills, allowing individuals to contribute positively to their communities. Extensive case management files are maintained for each client, ensuring that individual vocational goals are met. Direct on-site client supervision is provided as needed.

Target Community & Educational Services, Inc. Vocational Program

Target Community & Educational Services, Inc. Vocational Program

Target Community & Educational Services, Inc. Vocational Program

Target clients work for a variety of local employers through customized employment that matches the strengths and interests of job seekers with the needs of employers. Our business partners include retail stores, child care centers, car dealerships, restaurants, professional offices, and county, state, and federal government agencies. Employers report that Target clients are reliable and motivated, becoming valued team members. Employers also appreciate the consistent supervision and support provided by our job coaches.

Target Community & Educational Services, Inc. Vocational Program

Target Community & Educational Services, Inc. Vocational Program

Target Community & Educational Services, Inc. Vocational Program

Division of Rehabilitation Services (Carroll)

The Maryland Division of Rehabilitation Services (DORS) offers programs and services that help people with disabilities secure gainful employment.

DORS’ mission is to provide leadership and support in promoting the employment, economic self-sufficiency, and independence of individuals with disabilities. For more information, visit DORS’ website or contact Target’s Director of Employment Services, Allison Terfehr.

Carroll County’s Vocational Services Team:

Allison Terfehr, Director of Employment Services, aterfehr@targetcommunity.org ext. 42
Morgan Nickoles, Director of Day Services, mnickoles@targetcommunity.org ext. 29
Megan Harrison, Vocational Services Manager ES, mharrison@targetcommunity.org ext. 23
Hannah Pruett, Vocational Services Manager DH, hpruett@targetcommunity.org ext. 47
Melissa Davis, Employment Services Manager, mdavis@targetcommunity.org ext. 25
Deb Vana, Transition Services Manager, dvana@targetcommunity.org ext. 22
Angela Bond, Schedule & Transport Manager, abond@targetcommunity.org ext. 51

Montgomery County Vocational Services Team:

Keturah Buchanan, Director of Vocational Services – kbuchanan@targetcommunity.org ext. 14
Andrew Brewster-McCarthy, Employment Dev. Manager – amccarthy@targetcommunity.org ext. 17
Tracy Moore, Employment Specialist – tmoore@targetcommunity.org ext. 29
Terrence Shields, Education & Community Instructor – tshields@targetcommunity.org ext. 24
Nichelle Sumner, Supported Employment Manager – nsumner@targetcommunity.org ext. 15
Tammy Zimmerman, Employment Specialist – tzimmerman@targetcommunity.org ext. 30